A procession of dozens of buses started from the sports arena in Inverness. It was very early in the morning, still almost dark. The buses were packed with marathon runners. I sat in the bus with my nephew - both a bit nervous. Would we be able to finish it? The reason for choosing the Loch Ness Marathon was very simple: if we couldn't finish the marathon, we would at least see a legenedary place and maybe even Nessie!

The bus dropped us at the starting point in the middle of nowhere. Bagpipers and kilts, high fives and go! It had been raining and blowing the previous day in Inverness, but the Sunday morning was (thank Goodness) much better; it was chilly, but the sky was blue and the early October sun lighted the mountains around us. Whatever the result, at least I felt a part of something unusual.

I felt pretty good during the first 20 K or so - the route followed the banks of Loch Ness and I kept staring at the lake hoping to see something unusual...  My nephew was struggling with his knee - it had kept him away from running for a couple of months. He said he would finish the run no matter what. I admired his strong will but said he should not risk his health - as if an 18-year-old young man would listen to his aunt!

Somewhere along the route it started to rain - a bit only. A very long uphill at around 25 k made me think that I was crazy to do this - voluntarily. It was at this point that I noticed a young woman running at the same pace with me - she was breathing heavily, but kept going on a few steps behind me.

I stared at the lake - no Nessie.

 

For accomodation in Inverness highly recommended

http://www.bannermanbandb.co.uk/